What’s wrong with Basil?


Heehee, you thought I’d be reporting about a guy by the name of Basil.  I chuckle! I know no one by that name other than the

Innkeeper of Fawlty Towers.

My basil in the garden looks bedraggled.

Basil :(

Basil 😦

I pampered it while it was still in it’s infancy here at the house. It looked gorgeous when we planted it outside and now, at this moment, it looks like something from the wrong side of the tracks. Not much I can do about it right now. I am waiting to see if it recovers, after all, I planted all that basil in order to have enough to make Pesto.

The rest of what we planted looks goodThe rest of what we planted looks good

~

Oh and don’t you know, the green chairs that are right outside my backdoor, they are no longer green.  Mike really couldn’t help himself yesterday.  We were at the Hardware Store looking for green paint to repaint these chairs, when he picked up a can of

YELLOW

and

green

and

blue

and

white

He was unable to put the yellow back on the shelf.  We had to take it home.

my eyes, my eyes

my eyes, my eyes…

It is the original color though. I know, I have seen all the layers of paint 😉

8 thoughts on “What’s wrong with Basil?

  1. Those yellow chairs sure stand out! LOL

  2. Janice Gravelines

    Is it bad of me to say “Oh Dear! Poor Iris’ basil! Poor Iris of the green thumbs and the flour-dusted magic thumbs and all the other talented thumbs in her repetroire. Sometimes I do not think I am a charitable friend. Now I am going to pick my chives which are thriving!! And I will say a little prayer for Iris’ basil!

    • Dear Janice, Llama, Disney Diva- yes it is wrong to say that. What you suffer from is called “Schadenfreude”, a German word for feeling happiness toward a wretched friend who had a small or large misfortune. Ahemmmm, that basil will grow!!!!! 😛

  3. Janice Gravelines

    Oh dear – although I must admit I love the word “Schadenfreude”. I love that German words always include every letter of the alphabet – usually twice or thrice. I am ashamed to be a Schadenfreude – and will pray for your basil to thrive!

  4. I dare say its all the rain you have had. 😦 Poor Basil.

    • You mean it is too wet? It has only gotten water from me by way of 30 minutes of soaker hose every second day. Yikes, I hope this isn’t what ails it. I might have to give him (Basil) his own bed 😯

Leave a Reply

