Violets?


 

These are violets, right?  Oh I don’t really care.
All I know is these little beauties make me happy whenever I walk by them.
No, really now, I know what they are. I was just testing 😆

So then the ones above, don’t they look like violets as well?
How come they are not violet in color?
These and their purple-ish sisters are all over the lawn and right in front of cottage 1.

I remember when I was a child, my grandmother always smelled of violets.
She had Pastilles which made her breath smell so sweet

How Victorian of her 🙂

And then there are the Columbine on the north side of the front porch.

Much like violets and  pansies,
all they need is a little crevice and they will bloom with all their might – beautiful

5 thoughts on “Violets?

  1. Oh, I love violets too, they seem to grow despite the dogs and my errant weed whacker!! 🙂 I have no columbines any more, don’t know what has happened to them.

  2. I have swaths of violettes in what I call my “back 40” which is an area about 40 feet by 40 feet of hillside with various plantings, which is good, because it would be unmowable and I’m too lazy to terrace. They morph into white ( recessive gene) and sometimes I find some that are white and purple.

    I’m a sucker for any old fashioned flower, probably because of my grandmother. Bridal’s veil, violettes, lily of the valley and sweat peas are my favorites in my yard.

    My grandmother also grew African violettes in her window.

Leave a Reply

