Al Capone!


Had lunch at the Fusion with Mariah and Joanne today and a tour of the Al Capone house afterwards.  Oh yeah.  I have only seen the house a long time ago in total disrepair.
There it sits right at the beach, across from the Harbor Lights Condos in Frankfort.  Looking very tired and architecturally not appealing at all.  But as they say, you can’t judge a book by it’s cover.  Someone with a whole lot of money and a love for old things and traditions has transformed this house into a beautiful home.

Today we were treated to something very special.

The legend of this house is this, the house was used by Al Capone and his buddies for weekend outings with girlfriends and for those girlfriends to have a place to give birth to their offspring.  Pretty seedy, I know but still, if the story is true, pretty wild 🙂

Just look at this amazing gate. I love the ship with the sails blowing in the wind…

The entry

left is the kitchen

right is the parlor

This is a special spot, a cozy room all decorated with nautical accoutrements

I love this chandelier.  The entire room was decorated with model ships and little sailors sitting on the ledge

I have so many more pictures of the upstairs with all it’s bedrooms,  there was also a secret room. So much to see.  I will continue to post pictures tomorrow. The internet is giving me trouble tonight 😦

11 thoughts on “Al Capone!

  1. shelley brown

    Wow Iris! This may be my favorite of your blogs yet! I’ve always wondered what the inside of that house looked like! Keep adding pictures ~ I’m enjoying!!!
    Thank you!!!!

  2. Wonderful pics…..how lucky you were to get inside. That house was always a mystery to me….. Thanks for posting.

  3. What a fabulously interesting area you are in! I am loving your posts!

  4. And a secret room, too- very interesting 🙂

  5. Well, where are the rest of the photos?? Are you busy innkeeping or what? Hehehe

Leave a Reply

