When taking pictures of snow…


Woaw, winter has hit us with massive amounts of beautiful snow.  Al Gruss came by this morning, like he has a few times this winter already.  He plowed the driveway and made some spaces for us to park the cars.  Mike is now outside, having fun with the snow blower.  He loves to blow snow.

Yikes, 12 inches or 1 foot of freshly fallen snow showed up by the back door this morning.


.


.
See, he’s having fun and I am making oatmeal because I know that he’ll want some when he’s finished.


.


.
While he blew that snow I thought about how much fun Mike used to have building snow things such as an igloo with a slide on top when the boys were 2 or 3 years old. Or the time back there by cottage 10 when he managed to make a huge pile of packing snow and proceeded to sculpt it into this gigantic pirate ship the likes of which the world had not seen until then.  It took him many hours to construct and included a climbing wall aft as well as figure head; I believe it was a huge eagle.  There also ALWAYS was a little cave in everything he built.  The cave with a snow bench was the boys’ little spot to get out of the cold and windy air and to have mom – me- serve them hot chocolate in there and I did 🙂

Oh yes, I took pictures alright but that was in the days when digital cameras weren’t around yet.  I clicked away, took pictures of the pirate ship from all angles and what to my wandering eyes did I see?  White.  Nothing but white.

Note:  If you take pictures of snow, make sure the background isn’t white as well!

13 thoughts on “When taking pictures of snow…

  1. The look on Mike’s face is priceless. You really do have the best of both worlds. Beautiful summers by the lake and a winter wonderland now.

    • When I step back and look at it, I most definitely do have the best of both worlds. And to think that when we first moved to America, I insisted that Mike get transferred to California, because I thought that was the cat’s meow.

  2. Well California is beautiful…and they have an ocean!!! Oh and DISNEYLAND!!!!!!

  3. Mike looks too happy to be snowblowing…hehehe

    We had snow everyday last week, just a little each day, but it certainly makes everything look so pretty.

    Is it Spring yet?

    🙂

  4. I love the snow too. Thanks for all the pictures Iris. I also love Northern Michigan and your blogg is a little bit like being there.

    THANKS,

  5. A man and his toys…which one does he like better, the snowblower or the leafblower?

  6. Dave uses his leaf blower to blow the snow off the cars and van!

Leave a Reply

