Butter, Eggs and Flour in – Magic out!


The first few batches of cookies have been created and the house smells so good.

I always have fancy plans to send out boxes and boxes of them. And in the end I have a difficult time to get it all together.   This year I am slightly ahead.   A couple of days ago  I went to get the boxes and address labels from the post office.  In  a few days everything should be ready to get shipped.

I am as ready as ready can be        🙂

The boys are mad at me (as usual) for only letting them eat mistakes – the slightly burned edges of bar cookies and the painted cookies where the design just wasn’t up to snuff.  I don’t know why I do that, not let them have actual cookies. After all, they are made to be enjoyed.  But only when I say it’s ok, heehee.

Hello, my name is Iris and I am a control freak.  I need to go and have a talk with a Dr. Phil.

.

.

So here are some of them.   Chocolate Shortbread,  Apricot Stars,  filled Walnuts  and Rugelach bars – YUMMMMMMMM

.


.

15 thoughts on “Butter, Eggs and Flour in – Magic out!

  1. Your cookies appear worthy of a Martha Stewart Living cover. By coincidence, baking cookies was the major activity of the day here, too. (Adventure Inn B&B on Lake Huron near Port Huron.) Five-dozen went to the cookie sale at the library, a couple dozen to friends in Ohio and a couple more put in the freezer for Nicholas to take to Montana, where his uncle just entered hospice care.

    • Oh wow, youse guys have been busy too.

      I have to do a little more baking. These were only test batches. I will have some nice people over for Advent Coffee tomorrow afternoon. When they bite into these things I am watching their faces 😉

  2. Yum! They sure do look tasty. You giving your boys only the mistakes brings back a memory from my childhood. We didn’t have a lot of money when I was growing up so when my Mom made her delicious pecan fingers for Christmas, she would dole them out–never more than one at a time. We called them “dole-house cookies.” I promised myself that when I grew up, I would make them and eat as many as I want–and I do!

    Joyce

  3. Janice Gravelines

    Wow! That’s all I can say – just – “Wow”

  4. sure hope I’m on the list. you don’t need to mail just bring them down

  5. Christine Tilley

    Wow. You have been one busy lady!

  6. You always make the prettiest (and tastiest) cookies!

  7. They look yummy! I start my cookie baking tomorrow!!!

    • So, how did the cookies come out, Shelley?

      • I made 70 sugar cookies (my recipe uses almond extract ~ yummy!), 70 Russian tea cakes, 60 peanut butter and too many to count spritzs. This was my first year doing spritz cookies. They never appealed to me before, but I thought I should give them a try. They are really yummy! And Scott loves them cuz they aren’t too sweet. So all went well with the 3 day cookie marathon! All but 1 box has been delivered!
        Have a Merry Christmas Iris!!!!

  8. A great idea for future recipes this. Thank you for sharing it. Have you noticed how so many people appear to be cooking again? I wonder if the lack of funds due to the current climate has something to do with it and we all appear to be cooking again! its great!

Leave a Reply

