I’ve been told


I have had several emails in the last few days and 2 phone calls today about not keeping up here.  Soooooo, I am going to go outside and show you what it looks like here behind the house on October 23, 2009.

It rained so hard about 30 minutes ago, that I actually stopped what I was doing to see what the commotion outside was all about.

This is the view from the bay window

DSC03720

.

DSC03722

The other day, Mike said the falling leaves were making an awful noise.  He was right.  It was quite noisy.

Today is the perfect kind of day, I think.  It is wet, cold and gloomy. Just right for getting outside and being rained on and all cold and frozen, only to come back inside have some hot cocoa with a shot of rum and some whipped cream on top.  We call that Russian Chocolate.  Or maybe an Irish Coffee?    Or a Pharisaer?  num, num  One of my all time favorite drinks.

Recipe:

Pour strong black coffee into a regular sized coffee cup, add one lump of sugar,  add a shot-glass full of braun Jamaican rum and on top of that a good sized dollop of  homemade whipped cream.  Do not stir but drink the coffee with the rum through the whipped cream.

Beware!! If you are drinking that in a restaurant or a bar and you stir it,  you are obligated to buy a drink for everyone at the restaurant!  The bartenders are going to make sure to let you know that they have caught you in a “no-no” , heheh

11 thoughts on “I’ve been told

  1. Gosling’s Black Seal dark rum — my absolute favorite. Smooth, mellow, great depth of flavor. Perfect for this, and also fabulous for mulled cider. One of my favorite things about autumn.

    (This has been an unsolicited testimonial. 😉 )

    • Hey Voldy, where have you been?
      Of course a bottle of Gosling’s Black Seal dark rum is on it’s way, isn’t it? Oh I have been dreaming again 😛

      OMGosh the weather was soooo nasty today. Just so fun.

  2. I to have missed your E-mail postings, but I understand. Great day to read a book, or take a nap after that nice warm drink. K.K.

  3. Hi Kay, I didn’t post by email. I have had emails telling me to get back to writing, heheh. Here I am. Trying to write.

  4. Oh I don’t care what you call it, pour me one too!!

  5. Iris,
    Let’s see some pics of the new roof-or did I miss it?

    • I don’t think you’ve missed it, Cindy. The weather has been so stupid, not nice enough to think about taking the camera and doing something with it, ya know?
      I will go out and post pics 🙂

  6. Christine Tilley

    Anything chocolate is at the top of my yummy list. I’ll be over….

  7. Put the coffee on and I’ll be right there! 🙂

Leave a Reply

