Guest requests


This is what happens when you talk about your day/season to your family.  They will go and tell other people over dinner and then those people have fun with it.  I wonder if this could be classified as “Schadenfreude”.
The following email made me fall off my chair laughing   😀

Remember it is mid August – this year the season has been long and the special requests plenty…

“Good evening,
I do trust you can meet my needs. I require a cozy cabin for one night only, Friday, Labor Day weekend. It would be well if it has a hot tub, but if not I can bring my own. Do make sure to lay in a good supply of olive oil soap, please. I insist on 800 count Egyptian cotton sheets, preferably rinsed twice in aged balsamic vinegar and dried in the sun. My two pit bulls will be with me, but worry not, they haven’t bitten anyone but the mailman in weeks. –
How the heck are you, Iris? Rita and I hope to make it up there for a weekend in September. BTW, I just fed your long suffering sis-in-law. She managed, in her weakened condition, mind you, to consume several shrimp, an ear of sweet corn, a couple of tomatoes, a large NY strip steak, and a martini or two. Do you suppose I can write her off as a dependent?
Warmly,
Michael”

And here is my answer:

“Dear Michael and Rita,

Please do claim my sister in law as a dependent. It seems that she has consumed as much food as a Laotian family would need to survive for an entire year. Come, come and spend some time here, I need new material for the blog. Incidentally cabin 5 is available for the weekends of Sept. 18-20 and 25-27.
The damn laundry is being prepared for your arrival, I will see that we get the best champagne vinegar money can buy – balsamic stains  😉 “

What good is it all if you can’t have fun, right?  This was fun and after the day I had yesterday – welcome nonsense!

6 thoughts on “Guest requests

  1. I am still chuckling. 🙂

  2. I am working on a list, I will submit it, in triplicate, upon its completion. :)))

  3. Now that I have a computer again…I am catching up on your blog only to find my name being tossed about !! I will share Michael’s recipes with you if you would like…they are WONDERFUL !!

  4. Hey, I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog!…..I”ll be checking in on a regularly now….Keep up the good work! 🙂

    I’m Out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

