Almost bare trees


The cherry harvest is just about over.  I went to pick up the boys from Skyline  Orchards today but had to wait a few minutes and took the opportunity to walk around and have a look.

There were no cherries left on most of the trees that I walked among.  I was fascinated by the way they stood there with their bright green leaves.  Every now and then there was a lone cherry hanging among them, only they were hanging too high for me to pull down and eat 😦

hardly any cherries on here

ok, there are a few cherries still on the tree

ok, there are a few cherries still on the tree

Oh, there are some cherries but they are too high for me to get

Oh, there are some cherries but they are too high for me to get

I walked on and came around where the tubs are. I am not sure if that is the right word.  Cherry/ farm terminology is not something I have learned yet.

cherries are getting a bath

cherries are getting a bath

there they are those sour, little darlings

There they are those sour, little darlings

So the tubs are filled with water which keeps running and overflowing all the time.   I cannot remember why and Bill only told me today!
They had 8 tubs there and on Sunday they’ll add another 8 and then they go to Schmeltzer’s where they will be processed.
I just spoke with Nancy Tondu today who works the cherry pack for Graceland Fruits and she says the have 300 tubs there. Woaw. That is a whole lot more than 16 tubs.

Allee of cherry trees

Allee of cherry trees

Some random pics that I took around the place this afternoon:

I love the way a cherry tree looks. Like a fashion model with a different outfit than that apple tree across the street, HA!I love the way a cherry tree looks, how it poses almost. Like a fashion model with a different outfit than that apple tree across the street, HA!

The shaker when it is not in use

The shaker when it is not in use

I love old barns

I love old barns

...and old weathervanes :)…and

old weathervanes 🙂 This one is pointing south-east

Have a great weekend, Bill :)

Have a great weekend Bill 🙂

and thanks for showing me around again today

2 thoughts on “Almost bare trees

  1. Oh wow, they are almost bare! I was hoping there would still be some on the trees when we arrived. Oh well, there’s always next year!

    I like the looks of Bill, he strikes me like the sort of person who is comfortable in his own skin. 🙂

Leave a Reply

