What the heck?


I just did something very terrible – again.
A very nice lady called to see if I possibly have a cottage for her family. We chatted, she told me that she read this blog and that she fell in love with our place.  Of course I love hearing that and I started to like her even more and then she said “we’re in the area on August 5, 6 and 7″… And I, because I didn’t know her name, blurt out “Oh no, sweatpea…”

SWEETPEA?????

I felt like this complete country bumpkin, you know what I mean.  The ones that call you “darlin’ ” and “sweety” and other cute names like that, without ever having seen the other person before in their life.

Here is to hoping she doesn’t mind or that she didn’t have a good phone connection – one or the other but with my luck,  I am sure she did 😳
This faux pas would have never happened had I known her name.   I have always used these kinds of terms of endearment –  Toots, Pippi, Buubby, Sally Sunshine, Shweetlips, Shnookums, etc.  – for people that I know.

Maybe it wasn’t the big deal I am making it now?  Ok, somebody please put me at ease 😆

14 thoughts on “What the heck?

  1. Oh honeybunch, don’t worry! She’ll be endeared to you forever. I promise… 🙂

  2. Christine Tilley

    You worry too much toots. If everyone that I called toots, chicklet or any other nick name that comes out of my mouth without a second thought got offended, you could fill a stadium then. I think it’s endearing. I can think of alternative terms that could be offensive. Want to hear? 🙂

  3. Janice Gravelines

    You worry too much, mein schatz! People love it when you sound friendly…or eccentric….or – well, whatever, I’m sure if she reads the blog she knows that you’re a doll, Doll.

  4. The only problem I have with it is that’s the term of endearment that I always use! 🙂

  5. I think the next duck or chicken or whatever that you receive should be named Sweetpea!

  6. Michael E. Jones - HUSBAND

    Sweetpea – you spelled it SWEATPEA – was it working hard?

  7. Hi Iris! It’s the pothole filler people! Just found your blog upon trying to retrieve your phone #. I was going to call you with a request for cabins on Aug 4-5! Our friends want to come back and make the jaunt up to S Manitou. I hardly dare make the call now. Steve says I should’ve called you last Labor Day! What’s the following Friday night -11th look like? I’ll have to check with the freinds for their availability. Gee, it sure is hard to schedule a vacation these days! I’ll be calling you…

Leave a Reply

