Mother Hen Syndrome


I suffer from that!

Sometimes, when we have a full house, we can get away.  Mike and I did get away last night.  I think we left the house around 7:15 and drove out to Platte Lake.  Some longtime friends of ours own a resort there.  Of course I won’t tell you which resort 😉

They had invited us to spend the evening with them at the lake and as usual, we had a great time.  The problem with “running away from home”, for me, is always the question, will this be the evening when someone at the Wayfarer really needs me.  Things like “we locked ourselves out of the cabin” or ” my car won’t start”, are always on my mind.  I post my phone number on the office door, in case someone does need to get in touch. But what if they are not here and need us. Quite often we get calls from guests who got their car stuck on Elberta Beach and need Mike to get them out or for Mike to find help for them.  So you see, the guests are always on my mind.

We got home way after midnight and all the lights were off in all the cottages. Everyone did just fine without us.  Thank you guests for not needing a thing 🙂

4 thoughts on “Mother Hen Syndrome

  1. I would be just like you, Iris. Afraid to leave for a second. Which is one reason I so admire what you do – taking care of people, making their vacations perfect, making them feel at home. It’s easy for me to say, “Give yourself a break a little more often.” But, I would have a hard time doing that also. You and I both know though, that we have to take care of ourselves in order to be able to take care of others. Again, love your blog!
    Brenda (Bree)

    • Hi Bree,
      I felt my limitations this year and have hired help. That makes all the difference for me. Also, so many of our guests are repeat guests, that takes a lot of the stress out of it for me. This is a good year 🙂
      Also, I have taken off more time during the summer than ever before.

  2. Janice Gravelines

    Yes you are a mother hen! And good for you for being one! I can’t tell you how many times you’ve given me good, sound, solid, no-nonsense, German advice and snapped me out of myself! That’s why the Wayfarer is such a success!

Leave a Reply

