We had a good time, the Bear and I


This morning, too early, Bear wanted to take his morning walk.  So we walked.

Now forgive me if I keep showing you pictures of my immediate surroundings, but that’s where I am. It is summer time and I am stuck at the Wayfarer.  Sometimes I am lucky – the boys have eaten all there is to eat in the house and I get to go shopping at the grocery store in Frankfort, wahooooo.

Even though I keep showing you the same things, they are never the same. The meadow changes daily and it is starting to show color.

DSC02683

A moose!

First we came by the old rhubarb.  Walt Emig told me once that this plant is 100 years old.  Walt loved to tell stories 😉  We walked on and pretty soon we arrived at “the burn pile”.  This is the yard waste of all the neighbors and 2 or 3 landscapers who bring all the goodies daily.   It is Mike’s pride and joy – the bigger it gets the happier he is.  Mike throws a “burn the pile” fete every year around his birthday/winter solstice/ Feb. 21 or the closest Saturday around that date.   We have chili cooked by the Villa Marine restaurant and there’s a keg of beer, brats and all the trimmings.  People show up in snowmobile suits and the party begins.  It’s a garage party.  I don’t like it too much, it’s too cold and not exactly comfortable.  Everyone else is having a good time though.

Pretty soon we came around the bend and were on our way to see the old fort.  Mike built the boys a fort out of all the trees that came off the neighbors land when they started to build their new home.   This fort was making some of our neighbors on the ridge very nervous.  They thought that we were building more cottages and that “they would not allow”!
hmmmm…we own the land 😉

And as we strolled on further, I spotted the outdoor shower which I had bought with one particular guest in mind.  He was always so considered to make his family wash their feet, with the garden hose by # 6, so that they wouldn’t all drag sand inside the cottage.   The problem with a shower like this is that the water temperature is somewhat uncomfortable.  At first it is incredibly  hot and then outrageously cold, brrrrrrr.  No matter, here it is ready for anyone to use it.  And then we were on our way back home.  I was ready for my first cup of coffee and the Bear wanted his food.

We had a good time, the Bear and I.

15 thoughts on “We had a good time, the Bear and I

  1. Christine Tilley

    I never tire seeing pics of your surroundings. It’s so lovely. I will visit one day. 🙂

  2. Janice Gravelines

    And once again you have made my morning! Even though you’re held prisoner at the Wayfarer – that’s a pretty darn beautiful prison! I hope you use that rhubarb! And a picture of Bear please – pictures of Bear always make me smile.

  3. Christine Tilley

    BTW, does the moose have a name?

  4. heehee Christine, you crack me up 🙂

Leave a Reply

