Mushrooms


More specifically Shiitake mushrooms were my choice for dinner last week.  It all started with the mushrooms that I got with my CSA last week.  I went to Crescent Bakery and got a nice multigrain bread.  Long story short:

I diced  some bacon from the Honor Family Market, real bacon that has been smoked, not doused in liquid smoke!  I fried that bacon, added some onion to that and some garlic scapes, then the sliced mushrooms.  When the bacon was done and the onions were soft and the mushrooms were  still firm, I spread that on 1/2 inch thick  slices of lightly toasted bread,  sprinkled some kosher salt on it, topped it with shredded Parmesan and put under the broiler for a few minutes.

Serve with a nice fresh, green salad and some cold,  sparkling water with a squeeze of lemon or a nice cold beer.

Once again I have no pictures to show you, we have already devoured those scrumptious sandwiches 🙂

2 thoughts on “Mushrooms

  1. Janice Gravelines

    I don’t even like mushrooms, but that sounds delicious. Do these recipes come out of your head Iris?

Leave a Reply

