Adirondack Chairs


We’ve had some for a long time – Adirondack chairs, that is.
I love this type of chair. They are comfortable for hours, no cushions needed.  We placed them by the larger cottages in the back.  When we purchased them, they were painted green, we couldn’t see that the chairs were made out of the cheapest material the manufacturer could find.  The chairs started falling apart after 2 summers.  Mike would fix them, they’d break again. Then he would make parts out of wood to replace the parts that turned into dust in front of our eyes. It didn’t last long and the chairs would fall apart again.
Enough already! We have had enough!

2 years ago we bought 20 new Adirondack chairs and we love  them.  They are made from cedar wood and they were built right.   The only problem with them is that they look pretty pale and blah next to the yellow cottages.

See what I mean? You can't even see the chairs.

See what I mean? You can’t even see the chairs.

I had a really great idea, instead of painting them, we’re going to stain them, then there is no danger of peeling paint 😉

I went to Mary’s Paint up on 115.  She sells Benjamin Moore and Mike likes to use that.   I am so excited, Mary mixed some really fun, bright colors for me.  Green, blue, red and yellow.  Although now that I have brought yellow home, it isn’t bright enough so I might take it back to exchange it for something more orange-y.

He says he hates to paint, yet...

He says he hates to paint, yet…

finished!

finished!  Woaw, that was easy.  It’s like “slapping on” water.

So now we have 2 blue chairs, next will be red, then green.
I am going to find more stuff to stain 😉

phenomenal :)phenomenal 🙂

DSC02416

11 thoughts on “Adirondack Chairs

  1. Wow! Great improvement! That stuff looks really nice! I didn’t realize there was such a thing as colored stain.

    OH, and so sorry about the Wings… such a shame.
    I guess not everyone can live in the City of Champions!

    http://www.post-gazette.com/

    🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. Wow! What a difference. They look great!

    • I think so too. Mike was so excited that he wanted to start on the other chairs at 10 last night.
      I love the weathered look, it just didn’t look right for where they are located 😉

  3. Yes, yes, I am crying. It was heartbreaking! My children were crying. Talk about dashing dreams!

    But, there’s always next year.

    Fabulous colors for the chairs by the way. I have some lovely adirondack chairs too this year, green and red.

  4. Janice Gravelines

    Lovely, lovely chairs! Happy chairs! Chairs you just want to sit on. They make the cabins come alive! My quest is to sit in one of those chairs one day!

  5. Martha Tremblay

    The chairs look great! Seeing them in front of the cabins makes me want to jump in the car and head up. Only 6 weeks from today! My son and his wife and new baby are coming from California to stay again, so we’re all looking forward to seeing all of you!

Leave a Reply

