Frankfort’s Saturday Market


Yesterday I did not forget to go to town and visit the Saturday market in Frankfort.  I wanted to get  a fresh baguette for the party and maybe a nice salad with edible flowers from Grace.  Grace is my duck egg supplier.  She also sells turkey eggs and of course eggs produced by ordinary white and brown chickens. I only wish that someone would be selling quail eggs.  I love those little treasures.  Anyway, this is not a report on eggs –  it’s the Market report

Two thumbs up for this event, which takes place all year long. During the cold months it’s at the Community Center and after it warms up they move it outdoors next to the Community Center 😉

syrup

Maple syrup, I bought some and then went home to make pancakes for the boys.

a lot of crafts at the market nowadays

A lot of crafts at the market nowadays…

Look at the cutest baby hats you've seen in a long time :)
Look at the cutest baby hats you’ve seen in a long time 🙂

Joyce who sells embroidered clothing. She used to weigh me in at Weight Watchers - a long time ago, before it was too late for me

Joyce who sells embroidered clothing. She used to weigh me in at Weight Watchers – a long time ago, before it was too late for me

Mike with Bill Soper, the local stone mason and his girlfriend Connie, the gardener

Mike with Bill Soper, the local stone mason and his girlfriend Connie the gardener, who sells her plants at the market. Ask me about the house that Bill and Connie moved from Frankfort to Elberta and how that ties in with Mike’s bid for County Commissioner in the year 2002.

Kites!

Kites!
Kites are perfect for this area. It’s always breezy here and there are no power lines at the beaches.  Kites are perfect for this area 😉
These guys had some really shnazzy ones !

Grace! and below that is one of her many children

Grace!   Grace is a Mennonite.  She home-schools her children who range from 8 to 17 or so.

one of Grace's kids

One of Grace’s kids. All of Grace’s kids always have big smiles on their faces.

See that little cottage behind Grace?  That is the absolute cutest house in town. A single woman lives there.  She has sisters here in town and around Crystal Lake.  Quite a prominent Washington D.C. and Detroit family. I will write about them another time and get a better picture of the cottage in a couple of days, cause I know you want to see it 🙂

Lee, of Roger and Lee and Roxie. I don't know who the guy in the middle is, he just snuck in there, heehee

Lee (of Roger and Lee) and Roxie. I don’t know who the guy in the middle is, he just snuck in there, heehee

And now one more picture of the Mitch Mate III,  I pictured it once already, but didn’t show you the amphibious car on top or at least it wasn’t easy to see or something like that.

Mitch Mate III

And now I have to get pretty because, believe it or not, it is time to pick up LuAnn and her Michael from the airport.   She called last night to see if I was still speaking to her and if I would still pick her up at the airport.  I had to laugh. “Of course I am going to pick you up, you Dork! ”  I said.

Let’s see how they like the ride  – muahahahaahah.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 thoughts on “Frankfort’s Saturday Market

  1. Janice Gravelines

    Once again, another perfect day in paradise….if I didn’t like you so much and if you weren’t holding a certain Marti hostage…. kidding, just kidding…. next week I will visit our farmer’s market – where we have a plethora a Mennonites and their wonderful fresh baked bread!

  2. Christine Tilley

    Every summer, Shannon and I map out our summer activities. Festivals, markets, beach outings etc. I’ve been lazy and haven’t done it yet. Seeing your farmers market reminds me that I need to get on it!! It looks glorious in your beach town. I will visit you one day. I would be a fool not to see your beautiful part of the country.

Leave a Reply

