Old friends


This afternoon Dick R. came to the office to see if we might have room for some of his “summer overflow” as we call it here.  We love it when people run out of room for relatives and friends, it means they book them in with us.

Dick and his wife Janet use to stay with us often while they were building their house on the ridge.  There are about 6 or so houses up on a private drive – Trillium Trail. They have some of the area’s best views of Lake Michigan and Betsie Bay.

One January morning, the R.’s cross country skied right into our back yard for a little visit. I cannot remember if I asked them in. I probably did but not exactly feeling good about that. I am such a terrible house keeper, the house always looks it’s worst when people come to visit 😯  Why is that?  Everybody, please just come on Fridays and Saturdays. Everything looks beautiful then, because Cindy was here 🙂

DSC01847

The Friday-Saturday look.
I have to run now to clean another cottage. Later gators…

6 thoughts on “Old friends

  1. Christine Tilley

    Oh! I need an occasional chair for our livingroom. It’s a corner of the living room that’s been vacant since we moved in over 3 years ago. The chair that Bear is standing next to, with the swirl (?) pattern is great! Where did you get it? It looks like it would be perfect for that corner. BTW, your house looks so inviting and pretty. 🙂

    • Long story about that chair. See the couch next to the white chair? it’s a set that I bought at a rummage place for very little money with the upholstery eaten up by mice. We took it to have it upholstered. I wanted red silk with golden dragon flies but the guy talked me right into this very difficult to match (wall color wise) fabric and he cleaned up the wood which turned out to be mahagony. He wanted to buy the set from me before it was pretty for $ 2500.00 😯 That’s when I knew I had a good deal, heh.

  2. Christine Tilley

    Great story. Very cool chair!

  3. Janice Gravelines

    Is everything about your life perfect, and picturesque and serene and lovely??? Because I’m starting to get really, really jealous!

Leave a Reply

