Holy Buckets !


I thought I should share a little tid-bid with you that will make you fall off your chairs, drop your jaws, scratch your heads and make you go “whaaaaa?”

Do you remember Sue McNeal from yesterday at Fusion? Yes you do.
Who can forget the one that had that weird looking sweet and sour meal in front of her! The one that sat next to Hallie Christian.
Sue and I have the same maiden name 😯 Β  That is shocking, in more than one way, because ‘Scheunemann’ isn’t exactly a common name. Β It is also strange that she was born in Frankfort, MI and my father, the one who gave me that name, was born in Frankfurt, Germany.
Another interesting thing is the story of the first Christmas tree in Frankfort, MI and how it came here and who brought it here…
It was brought here on a ship from Chicago by Captain Scheunemann.

That’s all I wanted to say πŸ™‚

12 thoughts on “Holy Buckets !

  1. thebestthingscomeintwos

    Thats CRAZY! Jeez Iris, who needs Jon and Kate when you have crazy things like this going on in your very own life πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  2. thebestthingscomeintwos

    They sure are. I had JUST laid down and they both got up. Now I’m back down to just one. He is sitting here batting at his toys and smiling big as you please. He is due to eat in about a half hour so hopefully he’ll go down after that πŸ™‚

  3. Janice Gravelines

    Wow! Bizarro World! (re: Jon & Kate – was that a shot?)

  4. Christine Tilley

    That’s pretty interesting. I’m from German descent, my maiden name is Huetger. Not common here but I was wondering if you knew if it was a common name in Germany? I’ve been thinking about researching our geneology for our family tree. Just curious………….

  5. Wow, that is very interesting. Things like that always fascinate me. πŸ™‚

  6. “Another interesting thing is the story of the first Christmas tree in Frankfort, MI and how it came here and who brought it here…
    It was brought here on a ship from Chicago by Captain Scheunemann.”

    Iris, is there a children’s book written about the first Christmas Tree in Frankfort? I know the story of the “Christmas Ship.” Is there a story just for Frankfort?

    Thanks,
    Robbyn

    P.S. Have you found out anymore about John Burtker? If he was in fact the man who built your house he was from Germany too.

    • I don’t know about that, Robbyn and I don’t know about the Burtkers. I have nearly no time to do anything but keep up the cottages and do this little blog here. Research and such will have to wait until winter πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

