Big things are happening today…


Mike is taking out the bushes in front of the house – as per LuAnn’s suggestion.

We gave that suggestion the tiniest bit of thought and had to agree with her. When you live in your house, at least that’s true for me, you begin not to see flaws.  Like that patched hole in my kitchen ceiling that has been there for the last 10 years.  I just don’t look up that much.
I have noticed that when I drive home coming up M-22, I can no longer see our house the way we saw it when we came up that way for the very first time in July of 1994.  The trees surrounding the house were about half as tall as they are now and the bushes didn’t take over the front porch then.

So, without further ado,  the bushes are coming out. NOW 🙂

Martin G.This is Martin G. from Canada –

Martin is one of our all time favorite guests and one of our very first guests in 1995. He is here and he is totally excited (I think) about the prospect of having something to do besides waiting for the wind to blow in the right direction so that he can go up and hanglide. He wants to help Mike and he is prepared with some heavy duty gloves.

Ready, set...Ready, set…

not so fast, something needs adjusting firstnot so fast, something needs adjusting first

The house before...The house before…

almost donealmost done

DSC02026

speeding ahead – tadaaaaa

The boys have already started the painting process

So now let’s see what I should plant there.  This is the east facing side, which means that there is only a tiny bit of morning sun.  I think I’ll leave it alone and look at it for a while to see what should happen there.

Heh, I almost forgot, I have that certificate for 10 hours of consultation, remember that from the auction for school?

11 thoughts on “Big things are happening today…

  1. Christine Tilley

    Luann was right. What a transformation to the front of the house. Nice job boys.

    • Hey Christine, I cannot believe what a difference this makes. Even the steps are twice as wide as they were before. Looking great. Just wait until something more fun grows in there…to be continued 🙂

  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I see we have some thing in common (I love to watch the birds, also). I will visit again.

  3. Guess what !! I spent the day tearing out bushes and transplanting them too. It is clean the yard day at my condo complex..are you muscles as sore as mine?

    • OMG, I of course didn’t do any of the hard work, I only cleaned the cottages. The men feel it though. Took 4 guys to get it done. Sometime today Tom Zatkovic with his stump grinder will make toothpicks out of the roots. It looks so much nicer now. I am not sure what to plant there yet. We’ll see what the consultant has to say.
      Send pictures of your yard, Row!!
      When are you coming up next – on your birthday or sooner?

  4. Looks so inviting! Good decision.

  5. Janice Gravelines

    I’m thinking hostas! So many varieties – so many colours. Shade-loving. Yes, dear Iris, hostas! (PS – the house looks much better without the bushes.)

  6. Oh My Goodness! Iris it looks great!! Wish we could have stayed to help Mike paint–seriously!!

Leave a Reply

