Snowballs


the perfect snowball

the perfect snowball

I had 2 large egg whites left over from baking the other day and I thought that macaroons might be a great way to get them used up.

I mixed together:
1/2 cup of super fine sugar (regular granulated sugar will do just fine),
I added the finely shredded rind of one huge orange. If you can’t find huge, take the rind from 2 regular instead 😉
1 tsp vanilla extract 1 bag of shredded sweetened coconut (the only thing I can get in this area)
If you can find unsweetened coconut, use that and increase the sugar by 1/2 cup.

That’s it.

Now put the sugar and the orange rind in your Cuisinart.
I don’t have one of those fancy shmancy machines (yet)  so I mix it all together in my Kitchen Aid. It works well.
When the sugar has turned an orange hue, add the egg whites and the vanilla extract and mix it well for a couple of minutes.

Smell that orange aroma coming out of that bowl.
That’s almost like stopping to smell the roses.

Now is the time to rummage through your kitchen tools drawer and find  your medium size ice cream scoop and scoop out the little darlings.
lots of snowballs :)

Heat the oven to 350 degrees.  350 is my friend. I use it for all my baking – always.

Put the snowballs in the oven for about 20 minutes,  or until they are golden brown and no longer look like snowballs. Make sure to rotate the cookie sheet after about 10 minutes!

And here are the finished macaroons.  Too bad no one but me eats these things. None of my men like coconut. Crazy, right?

the finished macaroons

The finished macaroons. Yumm. The entire kitchen smells so wonderful right now

Once they are cooled off, I might just dip the bottoms into melted chocolate, mmmmmmmmmm

6 thoughts on “Snowballs

  1. thebestthingscomeintwos

    Ohmigoodness! Those look absolutely fantastic!

  2. Christine Tilley

    Oh Martha Jr, you never cease to amaze me. Yummy!!

  3. I love coconut….and chocolate

Leave a Reply

