Clean-up Day at the Wayfarer


A tarp full of leavesA tarp full of leaves

Today is the day we clean up the yard and all around the cabins. 3 boys, a husband, Bear and I. Raking is not exactly fun but it has to be done. I know now why there are so many leaves EVERYWHERE. Pudd told me that he wanted to mow one last time before we shut down in late October and I told him not to bother, that the wind would blow all the leaves into the field across the street, like it always does. What I didn’t count on was an early snow, which covered all the leaves and kept them hidden until a few weeks ago. Yikes. From now on, there will be one last mowing no matter what. I noted it in my “To-do” diary!

Marc and Mike discussing...

Marc and Mike discussing something over there

I wish there was a magic wand that I could swing wildly around the neighborhood  that would turn it all beautiful in an instant.

3 boys and a Bear 3 boys and a Bear shooting the breeze

Treasures by the old rock gardenTreasures by the old rock garden

All around where the old rock garden used to be there are these beautiful blue flowers.  The first person that can tell me what they are, gets a batch of any one of my cookies. Your choice.

Give me your answer in the comment section of the newly created  Contest page.  The first post with the correct answer wins!  There’s a better picture below.

blue flowers

12 thoughts on “Clean-up Day at the Wayfarer

  1. Hello Iris,

    I just want to thank you for doing this daily diary of an innkeeper. We have been having fun each day checking your site for the next entry. Thanks to you we are learning a little more about Frankfort and all about the adventures that happen at the Wayfarer’s cottages.

    Robbyn
    Noblesville, IN

  2. Robbyn, I am so happy that you like my “work”.

    Have you got a guess for me as to what the name of those beautiful little flowers is?

    See you soon! IJ

  3. I have no idea what kind of flower that is. Your blog is starting to turn into something great! I haven’t visited in a week or so and I’m in awe of your recent posts. You’re really starting to capture the identity of your town through your blog.

    Eric

  4. Iris, my sister-in-law, Ann and I looked up different wildflowers on the internet. The closest I could come is “Spring Beauty”, Ann’s guess is “Gold Medal Blue”. We don’t know but we tired. Good luck with your search.
    I will anxiously be waiting for your next entry. Have a good Sunday.
    Robbyn

  5. Okay, this is the last “guess”. Is it a Hepatica? After looking at more pictures of my last guess I know longer think it is a Spring Beauty.

  6. Is it a Bluebell?? How about more of your rice krispie treats? Your Florida family LOVED them. They thought you should contact Disney and make them for the kids there..

    • If you had won, Row, I would have made more rice crispy treats for you. Sadly you were WRONG 😛

      Come home and I’ll make them again and Disney – I would love to make them for Disney. They haven’t discovered them yet.

  7. Ann has given me another guess to give to you. She wonders if its a sisyrinchium bellum.

    Robbyn

  8. I think they look like the same blue flowers I have in my front garden, siberian squill (scilla siberica). Am I right?
    –Kristine

Leave a Reply

