Wandering through Frankfort with LuAnn


Most mornings during the week, I drive the boys to school and then stop by Luann’s house for a cup of her scrumptious coffee and after that, we walk through town.  We are walking for the health of it and really always start at a pretty good speed but after a while, we usually are more interested in the houses we pass as we make our way around town, and stop and look more than we walk. We always have so much to talk about, and totally forget why we are out there on some of those really cold mornings.                                     One morning she asked me if I had ever gone up Nippising Street and I told her  ‘no, not that I can remember’.  ‘You must see this house’,  she said.

Wow – as we came to the end of this short street there it stood. A little out of place next to all the cottage style homes in town.  This one really stands out.

dsc014231

This house seems to have jumped off the pages of some old, long forgotten motion picture magazine or Architectural Digest for sure. I bet Mae West lived in a house like that in the Hollywood Hills.   Gorgeous!

Luann told me that the house once belonged to a Dentist from Chicago, when he passed away he left it to a nephew who is not interested in the property and never visits it (I will go and check that out for accuracy though)  – so we walked up and looked into every window.  The house is beautiful.  It looks as if it once was a movie set.  Someone is taking really good care of it.  Nothing is out of place and it looks in there like someone just left to go shopping.

The next day we went back; this time armed with a camera.

Because of concerns about privacy, I deleted the interior shots.  What’s left is a picture of the exterior walking up from Michigan Avenue and this shot from the terrace facing, what else, Lake Michigan.

This gem  is perched high on top of the bluff overlooking the beach, Frankfort Harbor and Lighthouse.

View of Frankfort LighthouseView of Frankfort Lighthouse

12 thoughts on “Wandering through Frankfort with LuAnn

  1. What a wonderful way to spend a day. Wish I could enjoy a cup of coffee and take a walk with you. Please continue your “tour” and let me enjoy my home of Frankfort with you. Even though I’m in Ann Arbor you make me feel like I’m right there with you. Thanks

  2. Thank you for reading, Rowanna 🙂

  3. That home is in perfect condition. It’s a little hard to believe that no one lives there at all but it is kept in “showroom” condition. Amazing find! Posts like this are exactly what blogging is about. It’s something that draws someone in to read your stories and interact over the web.

    I’ve found a little success with this whole blogging thing. The key is to post everyday. I have found that even when i am self-conscious about not posting something because I don’t think it’s blog worthy those posts end up being the most talked about.

    This is a great start to a blog!!!

    Thanks for sharing,

    eric

  4. As you can see, I’m not a very good writer! haha!

    Eric

  5. What a good idea Iris! It is so beautiful up there and I’m glad you can share a little bit with us. Hopefully we can make it up for a visit…..soon!

    Angie

  6. Joyce Ochowicz

    Iris, I absolutely love the Frankfort area and have enjoyed my visits to Wayfarer Lodgings. Thanks for sharing your walks and comments about the area. Keep the faith—spring weather is coming!!! Hope to visit again this summer.

    Joyce

  7. I certainly do! A weekend away sounds wonderful!

  8. IRIS, I was thrilled to learn bout your blog. (from Donald Dear) You know we both treasure the Elberta & Frankfort area’s…
    And blogging with you is a real treat, like we were right there with ya’s and that house is a real gem! Many thanks and as always looking forward to seeing you and yours. K

Leave a Reply

