Musings of an Innkeeper


Looks like we have to wait for spring a little bit longer.  The weatherman predicts more snow for the weekend. Yikes. No matter what, the cottages are ready and the first guests, fishermen, will arrive on April 7th – all the way from Texas!  Hard to believe that this will be our 15th season coming up.  I always look forward to that first guest as it forces me to get into character and come out of my hibernation. This year I had Cindy help me open up the cottages and get them ready.  That was a nice treat for me who has to do all that cleaning work during the season. There is a lot of yard cleaning to be done.  For some reason a million leaves are still all over the lawns.  I thought we had cleaned that all up before the snow started. Apparently I must have been dreaming.  I called Pudd Ness to come and do some clean-up work for me,  hopefully he won’t make me wait too long.  Because this is how I like my front lawn to look:

Front lawn

Front lawn

Benzie County kids are on spring break until Monday, April 6th.  It is a bit quiet in town as everyone seems to have fled to warmer climates. Our winter has been extremely long this year.  My 2 boys and husband are out of town to soak up some sun too. My son Marc and husband Mike went to see Marc’s godfather in Arizona and Ty was invited by his friend Zach’s family to join them in Ft. Lauderdale for a week at the beach.

One thought on “Musings of an Innkeeper

  1. […] here is a look back at how I got started The first post on April 2, 2009 This slideshow requires JavaScript. jQuery.getScript( […]

Leave a Reply

